On Location Wedding Nails

Happy Monday loves!

Today I am sharing my step by step process of what happens when I work on location. I worked on a wedding party this past Saturday at the gorgeous Four Seasons Hotel in Atlanta, and I thought you all would enjoy learning what all goes on. I provided gel manicures and gel pedicures on the bride, mother of the bride, and three bridesmaids in the bride’s suite. It was a tight squeeze with so many people getting hair, makeup, and nails done at once.

Once I arrived, I also learned that everyone had to be done an hour earlier than originally scheduled, so I had to kick it into high gear! These kinds of situations happen pretty often when working with a wedding party because there is always so much chaos going on at once. The trick for nail techs is to stay focused and get into a good flow when it comes to doing the services. Below I’m sharing each step in my process, with a few photos. Let’s get started!

Step 1: Greet the Client and Set Up Work Space


Once I arrive, I like to greet the bride and the rest of the bridal party that I’ll be working on. This is when I discuss color options with the bride and she decides what she wants everyone to get on their nails. I then scope out an appropriate space with a chair and table, and then set up. I like to lay down a towel and a disposable manicure towel on top. I then add my tools, products, and polishes.

Step 2: Begin Manicure and Pedicure Services


When I am working on a clients who are getting manicures and pedicures, I like to do one set up and work on their nails and toes completely before moving to the next person. In this case because of the time crunch, I had to work on a bridesmaid while she was getting her hair done. This meant I sat on the floor and did her pedicure (which was easier than it sounds). I also had to work on each hand one by one because I had to maneuver around the hair chair and hair stylist. To keep everything sanitary, I like to lay a towel down on the client’s lap while working on her nails.

For the rest of the clients, I had to sit next to them on a rounded couch and move from the couch to the floor for manicures and pedicures. A huge tip is to bring an extension cord with you for your UV gel lamp. In this case it definitely came in handy for me. I had to move the lamp around the floor and couch for each client. In the end, I finished four gel manicures, one gel polish, and four gel pedicures in four hours.

Step 3: Clean Up, Check for Touch Ups, and Take Photos

Once I have finished all of my clients, I will go through each person and make sure everyone is satisfied with their nails. If there is any touch ups such as smudge paint, or an additional nail art request, I will do that now. After that, I go through and take photos of all the nails for my portfolio.

Throughout the services, I keep a plastic bag nearby for my trash and put the used implements inside as I go.  This makes clean up at the end of the services super easy. All I have to do it pack up all the products and tools back into my train case and take my trash bag with me.

Step 4: Thank the clients, share your card, and exit

When you are completely finished with the services and clean up, it’s time to leave. Make sure you thank your clients and wish them a wonderful day. You can also use this time to share your business card with the other clients there that didn’t’ book you themselves. It’s also a good idea to share your information with possible other vendors there such as the photographer, videographer, or caterer.

Thank you guys so much for reading! I wasn’t able to vlog this job this time, so I hope this helped you learn a little more about mobile services. If you have any questions, feel free to leave them in the comments below. I hope your day is amazing; love and light! :)

XX, Amy


Email: polishedbyamyy@gmail.com

YouTube Channel: Polished by Amy

Instagram: @polishedbyamy

10 thoughts on “On Location Wedding Nails

Leave a Reply

